Vacation Nearly At An End

It was a lovely week of rest and relaxation in the Poconos at a cottage we rented from someone we know. The place was much better than I thought it would be — actually, a hell of a lot better. What could beat waking up in the morning and stepping out onto a deck that sits next to a serene lake? This is the kind of vacation I like to take and reminds me of some of my favorite ones from the past when a group of friends and I would rent a house for a couple of weeks on the Jersey shore (Long Beach Island to be exact) and spend our time lounging on a deck that faced the Atlantic Ocean. Sure, there’s a lot to be said about seeing The Louvre, visiting Oxford University or seeing one of the many churches of Italy. But there is something about doing nothing but relaxing that makes for an exceptional vacation.

Now it’s back to the grind of life back home which unfortunately means work on Monday. I don’t mind the work as much as I mind some of my coworkers and the fact that I’m underpaid but, hey, it’s better than nothing. There’s also the next OTK Night at Paddles to plan for as well as the next SSNY party coming up on October 16th. I’ve also got a writing project I’m working on which needs to get going. I thought I might do some writing here during my vacation but why spoil a good time with deadlines. I can do all of my writing at work during the lulls in the day.

Leave a Reply

