Love Our Lurkers IV

Does that mean “four” or “intravenous”? I suspect it means the latter considering I sometimes need an IV of strong coffee to get going in the morning. So it’s another “Love Our Lurkers” day which means an acknowledgment of those people who read yet do not comment and an invitation for them to out themselves just this once (and perhaps forever more) with a brief remark or comment.

You know, “love” is such a strong word and so overused these days. “I love what you’re wearing” or “I love that song”, etcetera. Do you really love that song? I mean, do you think about it constantly and stare longingly at your radio or  iPod until it shuffles around again? I didn’t think so. Sure, “Evacuate The Dancefloor” is catchy but I can wait until I hear it again and I suspect so can you. Suffice it to say that I “like” our lurkers but would prefer to know them a little better before I profess an all-encompassing desire to have them bathe me in bodily fluids. Not that there’s anything wrong with bodily fluids in and of themselves — some of my best friends have bodily fluids. It’s just…well…you know.

Just to sweeten the pot a bit (and because I’ve been writing less frequently these days), I’ll just mention that I’ll be at the SSNY party this Saturday night along with about a hundred other people. If you did not RSVP by now there might be a few slots left but you’ll have to contact the organizers to find out — usually there is a long list of alternates even when attendees drop out at the last minute. I usually don’t ramp it up at spanking parties the way I do at the club because I’m always afraid it’s going to scare people to hear a really hard scene going on when they’re stuffing cookies into their mouths. But honestly, what do I care? I’m there for my enjoyment and the enjoyment of the person I’m playing with not to be concerned with the delicate sensibilities of the cookie and hummus mavens who might overhear things.

I am making the pledge now that I won’t take into consideration the reaction of newcomers who might hear something a little nutsy going on in one of the booths — that’s just the kind of guy I am. Besides, some of them might get excited or something at the sound. Not a bad thing.

23 Responses to “Love Our Lurkers IV”

  1. It’s ok if you want to you know, keep the loud noises to a minimum, I’m cool with that. We wouldn’t want anyone to choke on their cookies…

    Great post btw!

  2. I’m not one of your lurkers, Rad, but I’ll get your comment strand rollin’, along with Marie! May you have a wonderful LOL Day!

  3. […] make it more fun, a lot of my friends and favorite bloggers are participating! Rad wrote about coffee IVs and making noise at parties, Mija wrote about lemon twists, Sandy shared a […]

  4. You could have picked a better time to ask lurkers to come out, because I am still recovering from my 6 total hours of sleep at KinkyFest Montreal this weekend and lack the energy to say anything more.

  5. I’ve read your blog for several months now, and I think I might have commented once, so I guess that makes me a lurker. Just for the record, I love your blog!

  6. thepinkpoppet Says:

    I am not officially a lurker since today is the first day I have found your blog. But I will be back. Thanks.
    http://thepinkpoppet.wordpress.com/

  7. Hi!

    I’m a regular visitor to your blog, and enjoy your posts.
    LOL day is so much fun!

    Hugs,
    Hermione

  8. As a cookie/hummus maven, I will say that it’s pretty hard to differentiate the sounds coming from behind the screens. For all I know, it is a modern, percussive soundtrack. If you play hard back there, I will simply assume the soundtrack has turned noir. I am sure I won’t be able to recognize you in costume on Saturday, Rad, but I will search for your nametag.

    I would have to agree with intravenous for the title. Sometimes you just feel so lonely writing your blog, you know, that only intravenous readership will save you.

  9. Not lurkers Rad, as we do comment from time to time. You really do a great job coming up with fresh and fun topics. Thanks for the time and effort you give us all. Happy LOL Day! Hope to see you again soon too.

    🙂
    ~Todd & Suzy

  10. I mostly lurk here, but do occasionally comment. I’m a part-time lurker, I guess! Anyhow, Happy LOL Day, Rad and have a great time at SSNY!

  11. Emma Jane Says:

    I used to comment more frequently but very much a lurker lately as time ‘beats’ me but really like your blog.

    Happy LOL!!

  12. LOL – like the blog, like the lurkers, like what you said – don’t give a flying fig if “ramping it up” scare people scarfing down the cookies as long as it’s what the person being “ramped” wants! See you Saturday!

  13. Hi Rad,

    Thanks for making us think!

    Hugs,
    Bonnie

  14. okay, i am de-lurking….i really love your blog, Rad – but i never knew how to jump in and respond to anything because i felt like the lurker, that i WAS….

    naxie

  15. I wanted to stop by and say helllo on lurkers day. I’ll stop back in the future.

    FD

  16. Thanks to all who stopped by to say hello. Although writing is fun and fulfilling in and of itself, it’s sometimes nice to know at least a few people read.

  17. I am reasonably new, but not a lurker. I reiterate what so many others have already commented: Thanks for putting so much into your blog. I visit nearly daily and always enjoy it. -Mike

  18. Your blog is awesome! Hugs!

  19. My time for reading other people’s blogs has been much too limited since I started my own, but because you are a male top like me (there aren’t that many of us among bloggers), and a very good writer, I do lurk here occasionally and I try to keep an eye on what you are posting. Keep up the good work!

  20. WTF – I don’t care if newcomers are scared – I want my due! (Can you tell that it’s been a LONNNNNG while?

  21. Let’s scare some newcomers. They gotta learn the hard way…

    About these alleged cookies… I may be baking before the party. We’ll see what I come up with.

  22. ok….Yes… I admit it.. I am a lurker….but I’m in the 12 step program to get over it. Admitting it is the first step. Only eleven more steps to go! woo hoo!

  23. I definitely am a lurker of yours Rad and decided to comment on this since F.L. seems to be down for the night. Hope to see you and Cassandra at the next munch (and yours seems to be the best of the munches).

Leave a Reply

