Home

Boy do I hate flying. Sure, I’m a little bit nervous about every take-off, landing and bump along the way but it’s mostly because planes are designed to be comfortable for First Class passengers and an ordeal for everyone else. Oh, we got home safely so that’s a plus.

I still maintain that it was an odd party for me. Some missed connections (as usual) but just a vibe that kept me from getting more involved in playing. The play that I did have was quite good and I have only good things to say about the people I played with and the quality of the experiences. Like I told a friend of mine, it was quality over quantity this time around. I don’t want it to seem as if I had a bad time because I did not. I might have gotten somewhat angsty here or there and even had a bit of panic with the crowd on one occasion but other than that, I enjoyed myself.

I’ve always said that it isn’t just about play for me, it’s about connecting with people. Sitting down and having conversations — really getting to know people on a personal level. It’s not just about spanking because, let’s face it, a conversation filled with spanko talk gets mighty boring in short order. Whether it was discussing science fiction, politics or any of a hundred topics, it was those conversations that really opened a window into people and let me know a little more about them. It isn’t about play or wanting to play, it’s about feeling that the people that surround me at the party and the scene are as real as I am.

I want to write more but I’ll save that until tomorrow — right now I’m too tired to be coherent anymore.

5 Responses to “Home”

  1. I totally agree about getting to know people better. I think I’d keep coming to parties to see my friends even if I were in an exclusive spanking relationship. Not that I think that would happen, either.

    • I was satisfied by my party experience for the most part. There were times when I felt somewhat pressured to be more active but since I wasn’t “feeling it”, I didn’t succumb. The few experiences I had were good.

  2. What about the fact that you missed the last Shadow Lane party, and sometimes things change a lot over the months? Did it meet all your expectations?

    You also didn’t write as much about your anticipation, and about any goals you might have had. You’ve done a LOT of new things – joining SSNY, going to the San Francisco Leather Festival, private loft parties in NYC, trying to build up Paddles, and becoming an actor in video.

    Was there enough of the NEW waiting for you?

    • I suppose I’ll just have to get used to the idea that my interest in playing waxes and wanes with the times. Yes, I’ve been very active over the past year but I just think I was more in tune with hanging out with folks and talking rather than playing.

  3. I agree. Cindy and I went into this for the spanking, but stayed for the friends! Seriously, the surprise in all this has been forging some wonderful friendships and meeting new and interesting people we get to see again and again. Yourself and your lovely better half included.

    Craig

Leave a Reply

