My Favorite Character

I love role play — totally and completely. On occasion, I’ve complained about doing too many of these kinds of scenes in a row because it takes a lot out of me. That’s all my fault for not scheduling properly and for not realizing my limitations. One of the things I like about it is the intensity of the persona I take on when I’m knee-deep in a role play.

For me, intensity is the key to my kink. I have to feel something when I’m playing otherwise I have little reason to want to do it. Yes, there are times when I play in a more friendly and light manner but I know and will admit that those times, although pleasant enough, do not get into my head the way a preferred type of scene does. Now, intensity doesn’t have to mean that the person I’m playing with and I have to have some kind of ongoing relationship of whatever variety, it means that for that particular timeframe, within the bookends of the beginning and end of a scene, the two of us are locked to each other for a singular purpose.

This is the reason I love role play so much because it allows me to mimic any sort of relationship and feel the emotions necessary to make it seem real if only for a short amount of time. What gets into my head and allows me to create that intensity is a character that is is part anger, part disappointment and part disgust. I take this character into a disciplinary scene and just let him go. It’s why I’m able to get into the mindset of discipline role play without breaking character or getting to a point where I’m at a loss for words. I’ve compared it with method acting but it’s sort of my own version of The Method — I only took about six months of acting classes back in college. The rest of my training has been self-taught, using my own creativity to conjure up characters in an instant (you can ask my wife about some of the ridiculousness that comes out of me at the oddest moments).

My need for intensity makes doing silly or campy scenes unsatisfying. I could do them but I would approach a scene like that the same way that I would everything else. Within the context of the silliness there would be a character, me, that took it all as being completely logical and inevitable. As an aside, good comedy doesn’t come from the craziness of the situation itself but from the fact that the person in the scene accepts it as being normal and acceptable. Even slapstick, especially in the Silent Era, is not about a person being hit over the head or chased by a train, it’s about the reaction of the person going through this and the simple fact that they are just trying to find a solution for this dilemma.

To me, role play is similar. If I’m a teacher with a bad student, I accept that what’s going on in that scene is as it should be and we’re just trying to get to a resolution that fits within the framework and is the logical outcome. The intense and angry character that I enjoy becoming when I’m doing discipline is the major reason I can do a serious scene without it degenerating into parody.

8 Responses to “My Favorite Character”

  1. munchkin Says:

    How do you like the spankee to act in role play situations?

    • radagast Says:

      Good question. I usually like the person I’m playing with to take the scene as seriously as I’m taking it — that means acting the way they’re “supposed” to act in character. However, there have been times when I’ve played with people who weren’t exactly sure what direction things were going to take and were surprised by my seriousness. That was fun, too.

  2. Here’s another question:
    Do you ever suggest to your partner the type of role play you want to do for the scene, or does the stimulus usually come from your partner?

    I’d like to do more role play type of scenes (on those rare occasions when I get to play) but I’d like to be led; of course I also want to have input, but essentially I want my partner to initiate the type of scene. That way it’s not as predictable as a scene that I’ve suggested to follow my own fantasy. I guess what I’m saying is that I like a certain element of surprise.

    • radagast Says:

      Another good question. For some reason, I’ve mostly been involved in role play scenes that are devised by my play partners — I guess they are trying to live out a particular fantasy. I’m somewhat good at improv so there really isn’t a role I can’t do which makes it easy for me to fill the shoes of whoever I need to be. On the other hand, there have been a few occasions where there was a loose theme that I filled out myself and sprung upon the other person. They knew they were going to be, for example, a schoolgirl but didn’t know the specifics of the scenario. Is that the kind of surprise you’re talking about?

  3. Hmm, I think so. I also think part of it has to do with wanting to take a submissive role even though I am not a submissive. Since I’m kind of a neophyte when it comes to role play, I’m looking for someone to take control. I understand the need for give and take, but I don’t want to be overly detailed in telling my partner what I want (it feels too much like topping from the bottom). I could go into a laundry list of what would turn me on; for example, I love to hear my partner not just scold me and tell me that I’m going to be punished, but I like to hear HOW I’m going to be punished and have key words like “spanked,” “paddled,” “whipped,” come up and be used repeatedly. I certainly don’t expect my partner to be a mind reader, though in fantasy… that would be very nice. An element of surprise for me in a teacher/student punishment scene would be a situation in which I was OTK and receiving a sound hand spanking, and then my partner might tell me that that was just a warm-up. He’d have me get up and lean over a piece of furniture to be strapped or caned, again telling me how I need to be punished, and in what way.

    • radagast Says:

      I’m sure your wish will come true especially if some future play partner reads the above. You’ve pretty much given a primer on what you like so I’m sure some folks reading it will be only too happy to make it seem like they made it up themselves.

  4. LOL…

  5. I totally relate to the need for intensity. It provides a shift in ‘reality’ which is what we all seek anyway..I think. Its nice when one is able to really be immersed in it.

Leave a Reply

