Another Reason I Like Role Play

Certainly it’s fun and gets my creative juices flowing. I like the spontaneous improv that can develop during a good scene when both people are really involved in making it work. However, there is another…

This cropped up during conversation last night as I reached for a reason I liked to role play. It’s not something I’d thought about before but it popped into my head as a bit of a revelation to me. One of the reasons I like to role play is that it mimics having a connection with someone when none really exists.

What do I mean by that? There are people I have a connection with — my wife being the first and foremost of those people. We have a relationship and an understanding that makes our play that much better. There are also folks I share a connection with as well but in a less formal way. We are play partners and friends but beyond that there is nothing formal that binds us nor can there be for various reasons. When I play with these folks, the role play makes me feel something even if it is momentary and ultimately unreal.

The fact is, I need to feel something. I am not a robospanker or someone who merely likes to play for the physical sensation. I’m not a sensual nor erotic spanker (for the most part) but rather a disciplinarian with an outlook and headspace that makes that my ultimate mental place for play. Spanking someone for real or for real reasons is a thing that’s rare when I play, mostly because I play with so many different people. I am not nor can I be their disciplinarians — some folk already have people in their lives that fulfill that role and it would not be my place or could it be to trample that arrangement. So, I have role play. I’m pretty good at it and it allows me to feel the kind of disciplinary headspace that I like even if it is feigned in a real world sense.

Honestly, I’m not sure where I was going with this thought but there it is for what it’s worth.

12 Responses to “Another Reason I Like Role Play”

  1. Great insight. Food thought . . .and whatnot.

  2. The thing about role play that perplexes me, is… the spanking itself IS real..despite the mindset of the ‘disciplinarian’. For it to work for both partners ( again, just my opinion) there has to be some sort of symbiosis.

    I’ll take real any day of the week. I think its very cool that we all have such vastly different play styles..because at the end of the day, every one is only going to do what works/feels right for THEM.

    That said ..I’d rather just get spanked once a year as a NON role play, truly meaningful event, than have 15 casual spankings per week. Maybe it’s because I’m not a masochist. I can never take the emotional surrender of a spanking, coupled with physical pain..for no reason.

    • radagast Says:

      That’s your choice, of course. You have to be able to do things in the way that makes you comfortable and fulfilled. With me, I sometimes use the role play as less about having fun than it is a way to “feel” something when nothing can exist.

  3. Just as I get a certain type feeling from erotic/sex play spankings, and another type of feeling from disciplinary ones, role play provides something the other two don’t. There’s a different kind of high that I can only get from role play. Guess it’s the frustrated actress/ham in me, but when a scene is clicking, it just sends me through the roof.

  4. katy-lynn Says:

    Role play is just one of the many aspects of my spanking life, but it is a very important part. I only role play with a select few friends, and each and every time it is special. It works well for me because I’m selective. It is a great way to act out certain fantasies that would not happen in rl.

    katy-lynn πŸ™‚

  5. My favorite thing about a good role play scene, when it actually happens, is that the spankee can be free to explore and display aspects of herself she normally wouldn’t feel comfortable or safe doing, precisely because she is doing the scene as somebody else.
    I know that sounds contradictory, but it’s true in the world of just plain acting too. A good example is British actor Hugh Laurie, who is an extremely polite person in real life. But when playing the character Dr. House on television, he can release his inner rudeness. The lines are scripted but he makes it his, and those emotions don’t just come from out of nowhere.
    So Lisa… what do you say? Care to try being the nervous waitress facing down my impossibly difficult French chef one day? I should warn you, he’s a real prick. “Aucun No. de non, il est impossible!”

  6. swfloridabrat Says:

    I like roleplay because I dare to do things the real me would not do-whether it be taking more risks, pushing more buttons or revealing more skin-I roleplay in the vanilla world-and have several “favorite” characters-and qualities. It does forge a connection-and great stories:)

    • radagast Says:

      Part of what makes roleplay so good is that it does afford you the ability to do things that are not possible or just would not happen in real life.

  7. Tony and others..I never meant to imply I DON’T like role play. Hell, I can be a GREAT ‘actress’!.

    It absolutely has it’s place! I mean come on..how many of us HAVE ‘real relationships’ in this community. ?

    I think I was just perplexed by Rad’s ” no feelings can exist” opinion. ( which is NOT to say I dont respect your opinion..cuz I DO!). It’s just yet another example of “viva le differance!” in this sometimes complex scene of ours.

    Oh, and..Hugh Laurie? WAY hot.. and he can spank the living bejesus outta me any day of the week! ( whether he has any feelings for me whatsoever or not!!) πŸ˜‰

  8. @Tony: Bring it. With au jus, si vous plait…? hee hee

Leave a Reply

