The Best Laid Plans… (UPDATED)

Life intrudes once again. Sandy and I have decided not to attend the March Shadow Lane party due to a family emergency — too many of those lately.

My elderly mother took a spill trying to stand up from her wheel chair — she is only part ambulatory and has to be very careful not to go too fast. To make a long story even longer, she hit her head and got a nasty cut. We finally convinced the stubborn woman to go to the hospital where they stabilized her and replaced the blood she had lost. She’ll be in for a few days for observation and other tests but it certainly would not be wise or decent of me to take a vacation at this time.

We’ll be going to FMS in June and probably the next Shadow Lane party (among other local things) but the timing of my mother’s accident forced us to cancel this week’s trip. The spanking scene does seem like a huge playground at times but real life has a way of snapping you out of it.

**UPDATE**

Thanks for all the positive words and thoughts — I appreciate them. Mom seems to be resting comfortably as the doctors run more tests for a variety of things that may have contributed to her fall. At least she’s snapping at people around her — her normal personality.

16 Responses to “The Best Laid Plans… (UPDATED)”

  1. Hope your mother recovers really soon. I’m sorry you are going to miss the party, but life has a way of happening at the most inopportune times.

  2. Life happens. My blog today is about my elderly dad. We are at the age where these things happen more freaquently than we like. It does snap one back to reality. You are a thoughtful son Rad….I’m sure your mom is proud of you. Best wishes for a speedy recovery.

  3. Sorry Rad.
    Reality sucks out loud at times…and while there will no doubt be weeping and gnashing of teeth heard in Las Vegas at you and Sandy’s absence, you are to be commended for doing the right thing and for being a loyal, concerned son.

    I work with the elderly daily, as you know..and trust me, even at the worst times, many adult children are nowhere to be found. It never ceases to anger and amaze me. True, the elderly can be a difficult lot but…whats right is right.

    We will all old someday..if we are lucky. Good luck with the situation…..

  4. Sorrry to hear about your Mom, Rad and I know how difficult she can be but you’re doing the right thing. You’re a good man and I look forward to seeing both you and Sandy in Florida.

    Take care, my friend,
    Lynn

  5. I’m so sorry about your Mom, Rad. I’ve been feeling that subtle shift of role reversal with my Dad for a while now. He’s aging and I’m afraid I’m the one who’s not going to handle it gracefully…but I will, and you are too. One way or another the scene will always be here. Take time for your Mom and I hope she is feeling better soon.

  6. Wednesday Says:

    I am glad you were able to convince her to go to the hospital for assessment–sounds like she took quite a hit to the head. My best wishes for her. So sorry about the timing though–that does suck. 😦

  7. Hello Rad, Im sorry to hear your Mom took a spill and I hope she is better very soon. Like everyone else, I can relate. My Mom is becoming senile and I find it hard to deal with. To be honest it scares me and shes a frail thing on top of it so it all scares me. But I deal with it. Like SueNY said, the scene is always there, in the mean time you are being a good son and that will always be and feel like the right/good thing. Im looking forward to seeing you and Sandy at FMS ;0)

  8. I am so sorry to hear about your mother’s fall. I am glad you were able to talk her into getting medical attention. It is such a fine line to walk, being respectful of an elderly parent’s wishes versus needing them to be safe and cared for. We will be so sorry not to see you two at SL, but totally understand that you need to be with your mother now. Sometimes reality sucks.

  9. Best wishes to you and your mother, Rad.

  10. Jasmine Says:

    Wow. Just reading this. Really sorry to hear about your mother. Sorry I won’t get to meet you two at the party. Earlier this week, I was about to back out of going, but now I’m resolved to go through with it. Take good care.

  11. triple D and me Says:

    hey Rad and Sandy,
    So sorry to hear about your mom, just be grateful she is still here with you, we lost our moms and miss them daily, You are a great couple and doing the right thing. Besides, you get what you give in this world, someday we all will need a little concern and kindness. See you two at otk

  12. Thanks, all, for the comments. Much appreciated.

  13. Sorry Rad and Sandy!! How hard all the way around…especially when there was something that you were looking forward to. You are in my prayers and in my good thoughts!

  14. Kathyca Says:

    Hi Rad sorry to hear about you Mom. I went through the same thing with my Dad last fall. I guess this is pay back for all the years we made them crazy. LOL well it is in my case anything. I will have a good thought for her. Kiss kiss

  15. I’m so sorry you guys both have to miss SL, and I hope your mom recovers quickly, Rad. I look forward to seeing you in April!

  16. I’m echoing Indy’s sentiments about your mom Rad…I hope she recovers soon. You and Sandy will both be missed at SL but like Indy, I will be back in NY for the SSNY party in April. My good thoughts and prayers are with you, Sandy and for your mom’s recovery as well.

    ~maria~

Leave a Reply

