Once More With Emotion

I was going to post something yesterday but two drafts later I was still unsatisfied with my thoughts or with the result. The subject of emotions has come up more than once in the last week or so and I wanted to address it.

It was a toss up. In one version of this post, I was very nonchalant about the whole subject — tossing off “so what” remarks like they were nothing. I got about two-hundred words into it and decided that it was a little too flip about something that really bothers some people and gets in their way.

The next version was hyper-serious. I was totally psychoanalyzing the entire concept of emotions vis a vis the spanking scene. I was using metaphors and similes and I think Friedrich Nietztche made an appearance somewhere in there as well. By the time I got towards the end, I had solved the entire issue without a problem. After reading it over, I realized that it was total bullshit. Some bullshit is do-able but total bullshit is too much even for me.

So now I’m left with a blank screen wondering what to write on the subject. Emotions are in and of themselves not good or bad — they just are. The way we deal with them is what gives them their flavor and different people deal with them in as many ways as there are people. Some get really worked up and find the way they feel an inconvenience or even an angst-filled hell. Some folks just don’t give a shit and go with it no matter what — surfing the tidal wave of emotions (metaphor alert) towards an end they can or can’t see. Others are just good at putting things on a scale and figure things balance better when we just keep it to ourselves. That said, it isn’t easy feeling things that get in the way. Whether it’s jealousy, dislike or unrequited love, these things can work their way firmly into your brain and filter the way you perceive things — often in a decidedly negative way. Will talking it out help? Will bottling it up help? Whatever your personal solution, it should be something that alleviates any harm that feel a certain way can do to you.

Truth be told, I have no idea what the answer is or if there is a solution at all. Most of the time, I just swallow it until it goes away rather than cause a ruckus. For example, if I dislike someone, it’s very easy for me to avoid that person or barring that, behave in a cordial manner, looking at any discomfort I feel by being in their presence as life experience and something that toughens me up for the long haul.

4 Responses to “Once More With Emotion”

  1. I vote for the angst-filled hell.

    No, but seriously….

    thoughtful and thought provoking post, Rad.

    Speaking for myself only….( funny how thats always the standard disclaimer) I have to say I’m composed entirely of emotions…held together with some strands of paranoia, regret, and a bunch of other things.

    It’s exhausting, to say the least, and can be quite counter-productive.
    You are so right that the nebulous nature of feelings and emotions can vastly affect one’s perceptions. “Reality” can even seem fluid at those times. And, I don’t think there are easy answers. I try to talk it out/write it out….and use the principles of my 12 step program.
    For YEARS I chug-a-lugged my emotions “away”.
    They never went away.
    They got altered in terrible, dangerous ways.
    Fact is, we all sometimes just have to FEEL things….feel the pain of it.. and then can more genuinely feel the joy and relief that GOOD feelings bring. Gee. Kinda like this scene.

  2. Some bullshit is do-able but total bullshit is too much even for me. I just love this line. Seroiusly.

    The whole spanking thing is way more emotional than physical for me. Or perhaps the physical is a way to get to the emotional place I crave. Something like that. The best scenes tap into or transport me (hopefullly both of us) to a very different place. Sounds like bullshit, but it is true for me.

    On the other hand, opening myself up to sharing this part of life with various others, and now opening up my relationship so that both of us can have these experiences, both together and with others, brings forth some surprising bursts of emotion. Being a very rational sort, I am sort of bemused when emotion sort of ambushes me. Where the hell did that come from? Jealousy is like that for me. I don’t go there often, but when I do it ifeels like a weird, unexpected, sort of random and wholly unreasonable burst of heat.

    The beauty of both types of emotion is that if you are willing to share them, they can bring you closer. Discussing them has brought me closer to my female scene friends, spanking partners, and most of all to Floyd.

  3. Hi Rad,

    I just returned to the spanking universe after what seems like a long hiatus, and I learned of your blog through Dave’s Cherry Red Report.

    Much of my writing on spanking has centered around the relationship between emotional pain and physical pain, the effect they have on each other, the ebb and flow of the body and mind. I think the idea that emotion colors one’s perception and one’s universe is absolutely true. To a degree, my emotions led to my hiatus, and, thankfully, as I have missed this world, to my return.

    More importantly, I’m happy to return to new blogs such as your own, and I really just wanted to say hi. I have a lot of catching up to do, but I’m looking forward to it.

    Best wishes,
    Abby

  4. radagast Says:

    Abby: Welcome and thanks. I will be interested in reading your blog as well and hope to check in on your continuing journey in this thing of ours.

Leave a Reply

