Obligatory Turning-The-Page Post

Yes, it’s December 31st — the last day of the year unless you’re one of those folks who relies on a totally different calender. Thinking back is what you’re supposed to do with some thinking ahead thrown in as well. OK, I’ll bite.

All in all, it was a pretty decent year. It started out with me feeling rather uncomfortable and not totally happy with the spanking scene and ends up with me being quite satisfied overall. I’ve had the pleasure of making lots of new friends and having many new experiences. I complained about the scene in New York earlier this year but now know that it has suddenly gotten more vibrant thanks to several new groups.

Most of all, I’m glad I started Radspace. When I wrote my first post, about the Florida Moonshine Party, I was not sure that I would be able to sustain writing on a daily basis. Fortunately, I’ve found myself able to do just that and I feel richer for the experience. I’ve always liked writing and glad I can do so on my own terms and in my own way. As I did last week, thanks to all those who read and comment. I do it for you, too.

Resolutions? I have few because I think one can start something new every day of the year, not just on January 1st. I’d like to get more involved in the local scene actually doing something other than just showing up but I’m not sure exactly how I would do that. We’ll see. I want to finally do more of those RadRadio pieces but it requires an investment in my own equipment and the time to produce things. Also, not being a person who feels comfortable talking to people on the phone, it’s kind of tough to line up interviews — I’ll work on that, too.

Next stop, 2009. Have the best one possible.

8 Responses to “Obligatory Turning-The-Page Post”

  1. Interview me!! 🙂 I’m only shy when the situation calls for it! LOL

  2. What I appreciate about blogs in general is the opportunity to say “Hey. me too!” so often. It makes me feel less stupid. So … “Hey, me too!” to feeling uncomfortable talking on the phone. Thanks!

    Happy New Year, Rad and all. I don’t know yet what I expect from 2009, I just hope that, whatever it is, I’m not too disappointed this time next year.

  3. I hereby join the ranks of the admittedly phone-shy, happy to have such good company…

  4. I’m still on the Aztec calendar. It works out rather well, but cleaning up after a New Year celebration/sacrifice is like trying to get blood from a stone.

  5. Tony: At least it isn’t the Mayan calendar. I’ve heard it’s hell to find anything beyond 2012.

  6. Ah, a Mayan on a Yamaha.

    Try saying THAT ONE backwards.

  7. You know, there’s nothing “just” about “showing up” and being a good citizen in the scene, I think. Not to discourage you from more, obviously, but to validate what you and people like you do for the scene. It’s huge. Here’s to a new year full of all the things you like best!

Leave a Reply

