First Things First

I interrupt my regularly scheduled daily article at this time to say that I’ll be writing and posting it after I vote. As an American, I’ve never felt more patriotic in my life than those times I’ve walked into that booth and cast my vote.

I will quote a favorite monologue from a rather terrible movie, City Hall:

“There was a palace that was a city. It was a palace! It was a palace and it can be a palace again! A palace in which there is no king or queen or dukes or earls or princes, but subjects all — subjects beholden to each other, to make a better place to live. Is that too much to ask? Are we asking too much for this? Is it beyond our reach?! Because if it is, then we are nothing but sheep being herded to the final slaughterhouse! I will not go down that way!! I choose to fight back!!! I choose to rise, not fall! I choose to live, not die!! And I know, I know that what’s within me is also within you!”

Thank you. I will return to our usual ass slapping navel gazing later today.

One Response to “First Things First”

Leave a Reply

