Compromise Is Sometimes Good

I suppose it’s good not to be too rigid.

I’ve made it abundantly clear that I like what I like and generally don’t like to compromise for no good reason. However, there are sometimes good reasons like when playing with your significant other.

There’s no hiding the fact that my wife Sandy likes a wider variety of things than I do although we do mostly see eye to eye on the disciplinary thing. It’s just that she’s into bondage and other sorts of play that really don’t do it for me. Although I can do those things to a point, I’m certainly not as good at them as a person who really enjoys things like that and has had a lot of practice doing them. There’s the nut of the problem – should one do things that are not exactly what they enjoy or should they stick to a hard and fast rule about only doing what they like.

Certainly, it’s much easier for me to get into the headspace when I’m doing what I truly like rather than something I might be struggling with both technically and mentally. Bondage is something I can dabble in but it isn’t something that really gets my motor running especially when my fantasies involve schoolgirls, daughters and other naughty girls – bondage is rarely part of it at all. That’s not to say that I don’t think restraints have their place, just that it isn’t the heart of my kink. Part of my lack of interest has to do with my feeling of inadequacy in doing things like that. I’m just not a rope meister no matter how hard I try. When I do it, I tend to want to use buckles, belts and straps because, let’s face it, it’s easier.

And there’s the point I’m trying to get to. Although certain things are not the be-all and end-all of kinkiness for me, I can still do them moderately. This is especially true when it concerns my wife. Other folks I can avoid because I really don’t need to play with people I don’t sync-up with, but my wife deserves a partner that’s willing to at least give it the old college try rather than say, “No” every time. It’s also not true that I only like one type of spanking play exclusively. I may like the style of play I engage in more than others but there are degrees of like that range from tolerate to love. Somewhere in there is how I feel about all those things I don’t normally do.

I do have one confession to make: Although I like being the Daddy and schoolmaster, there are times when being the rough sadist rev me up pretty quickly.

4 Responses to “Compromise Is Sometimes Good”

  1. Ooooohhhhhh….the rough sadist! Yum! You have the right mindset Rad because you recognize that the compromise comes within the context of a loving, marriage relationship. Most healthy marriages compromise on all sorts of things whether it be china…furniture….or what to do for a holiday. Spanking is just another part of your relationship. I am quite sure that Sandy knows you don’t LOVE all the same stuff she does….but also appreciates the fact that you are sometimes willing to play. And when you’re not – then there are other options for both of you.

  2. I’m not trying to say that it’s all a bed of roses because I’m leaving out the rough spots and just cutting to the chase. Let’s just say that when all is said and done, Sandy and I meet in the middle somewhere.

  3. This is well thought out. Its made me think a lot. I tend to be far more solid and uncompromising, but with certain people, I may (or have) waived it.

    Thanks for this.

  4. kj: Thanks.

Leave a Reply

