Twenty Five Years Later

After spending the day at a family wedding (and a nice one it was), we’re off to Paddles to help celebrate their 25th year as the place to go in New York for spanking and other BDSM pleasures.

There are those that remember it in it’s original incarnation over in the Meatpacking District on the Lower West Side of Manhattan but I was only introduced to it in January of 2005 where I met my future wife and had my very first spanking experience. Ever since, I have had many fun and interesting times there and met many people who are now both acquaintances and friends. Before I came out into the scene, I always imagined BDSM clubs as “scary” places where all sorts of dangerous people lurked about. Having gone there over the past few years, I have come to realize more and more that the people in the spanking scene and the overall BDSM scene are more often than not the most normal people I know – aside from their recreational choices. I can easily count on one hand the number of unpleasant experiences there and most of them were rather low key.

Now that times are tough economically, it seems less and less people are probably finding it harder to justify spending the money to go to Paddles – the crowds have been somewhat thin of late. Hopefully there will be a big group there tonight and as the months come and go, the club starts doing better. I want it to be around for a long, long time.

OK, I’m off to put on my requisite all-black outfit.

Leave a Reply

