The Itch To Write

I had it when I was young and continue to have it. This blog is a product of my need to get it all out of my head. I am toying with the idea of doing other writing as well.

I went through a really bad period starting in October of 2007 through February or March of this year. Call it writer’s block, an overabundance of stress or depression, it literally brought my creativity to a screeching halt. Writing became nearly impossible and even the creative things I do with audio at work were a struggle to finish. I did them because I had to do them but it was not a pleasant experience.

Ever since starting this blog back in June, I’ve found that publishing at least one article a day has really lit a fire in my creativity, not just for writing but for doing other things. I don’t know if it’s the routine which makes it seem a natural part of every day or the fact that the habit of writing has unlocked a part of my brain that was pushed aside for a while, but it certainly has broken through my writer’s block.

I’m not quite sure what I want to do with this pent up creativity. I have a mind to start writing fiction again like I was doing from my teen years until about ten or so years ago. I stopped writing it because what I wrote would just come across as silly to me and was around the time I stopped reading spanking fiction as well (for the same reasons). Maybe I’ll start again with my current writer’s brain and see what comes out. I also have an idea about doing some more audio work aside from wanting to do more Rad Radio. We’ll see.

8 Responses to “The Itch To Write”

  1. Writing is a tough discipline to master. Anybody can write, but to write a coherent piece that other people want to read is very, very difficult. It takes the commitment to write something every day even when writing is the last thing you want to do. It also takes the understanding that sometimes you have to walk away and let your mind chew things over. When I decided to write my novel it took roughly six months, separated by a break of of six months to write 93,000 words. Then a total of 15 complete edits and it was done. To help me put the process in perspective, I came up with a mantra.

    Don’t write the perfect novel…
    Write the perfect word…
    One word at a time…

  2. Nothing is “silly” if it’s a passion for you.

    Passion comes from the heart. And if it comes from your heart, it’s gotta be good. Even if you’re the only person on the planet that thinks so.

    I’m glad that your “block” is slowly crumbling – and that you are feeling creative once again. I for one enjoy your blog and look forward to your posts. So in my opinion… bring it on!

  3. I also would say…just go on with it 🙂
    It´s your blog and you can post whatever you want.
    I´m curious about the stories you will tell us and happy that you feel more comfortable since you´ve opend this blog.

    And please Rad, give us more Rad -Radio.

    Kisses Apple

  4. Brian: Thanks for telling us about your experience. I don’t know how many people realize the hard work that writing is until they sit down to do it.

    D and Apple: I’m still not sure where my inspiration is leading me but I intend to find out. As for Rad Radio, I’m working on some ideas but need the time to get them done. There’ll be more.

  5. Go for it, Rad!! I have gone through periods of writing everyday and then stop. And then start again. I enjoy your blog a lot. You are a good writer and what you write about is of substance. It is an article…and not like a list of what you did that day! Writing is a good discipline and it does release other creative projects also.

    It is hard when creativity gets blocked. I hate when that happens. In my job it happens, also, and it just makes it not as much fun and actually much harder to do then when my creativity just flows!

  6. Oh Rad….do it! I am a frustrated writer as well…and my blog is therapy for me…..as well as the kick in the butt responses I get from my readers. You will never know if you don’t try. Best wishes!

  7. bella: Thanks for the compliments – I appreciate them. I’ve tried to make my blog not merely a diary of my life although there’s nothing wrong with doing that if you prefer to do a memoir. I try to take thoughts about spanking or the spanking scene and filter them through my perceptions. What I write may be something people agree with or not but they are my opinions and I enjoy getting them out.

    Barb: I totally understand the therapeutic nature of writing now that I’m doing it every day. It was a hill to climb to write this blog and stick with it and it will be another hill to that “something else” that I want to do.

  8. Rad,

    Just write. I (we) will read.

    me

Leave a Reply

