How To Role-Play On The Fly

I think it was in chat the other night when someone asked me how I role play without setting it up way in advance. OK, here goes.

Is it good to set up a role-play scene ahead of time? It depends on how elaborate it is going to be. If it requires props or costumes or “set design” then yes, it does require forethought. If it requires me to say or do certain things in a certain order then yes, it requires me to either learn a “script” or to prepare a mental outline for what’s going to happen. However, there are times when there’s no time to prepare because, let’s say, you’ve just run into the person at a party, gotten into a conversation and decided to go off then and there for a scene that requires some level of role-play.

What I do in situations like this is to fall back on certain tried and true clichés of a role-play scenario (depending on the characters being role-played). Let’s say that it’s a basic “authority figure” that I’ll be playing. It’s not anyone specific, it’s just someone who is in a position to spank the other person (this can of course be slightly fine tuned as well by adding Daddy, Uncle, Boss, Teacher, etc. to the mix). I usually will take the person to as private an area as they would like and begin right away. I might start with something as generic as, “How many times do I have to talk to you about the same thing?”, or something like that. Usually, the other person will catch on and say, “I’m sorry, sir” or “I didn’t do anything” or whatever. Sometimes, if they have a particular thing in their head, they might fine tune the scene by including it in their response. That’s why it’s always important to listen to what the other person is saying – they might be giving you a clue about which way the scene is being steered. In a scene like this, it’s a pretty quick trip from set-up to spanking.

One thing that is important to note: None of this is difficult at all. We all played make believe when we were kids and it’s just a matter of letting yourself tap into the part of yourself you might have left behind years ago. We all have imaginations and you have to be willing to do something silly with abandon. As I’ve said on more than one occasion, role-play is about two people “riffing” off of each other – each of them adding a little something more until they build a whole scene.

4 Responses to “How To Role-Play On The Fly”

  1. Spanking improv! Who knew? Rad did! The improv thing seems less terrifying to me than role play.

  2. That’s one of the new things I want to try while in Vegas this year. Before, I’ve always had a “reason” to spank someone. I’m looking forward to just playing on the “fly” as Rad described.

  3. wow. 🙂

    this is one of the most interesting blogs I’ve seen in a while.

    Thoughtful and informative, and a great WordPress layout too!

    Keep up the wonderful work!
    Dave
    The Cherry
    Red Report

  4. radagast Says:

    Lynn: It’s all about having fun as far as I’m concerned. As long as you are willing to ride the roller coaster…

    Dave: Thanks. I try. As for the layout – I picked one that made the words more important than the “look”. Although the simplicity of the theme is me.

Leave a Reply

