A Dirty Subject

How many times do you have to tell people about hygiene? If easily grossed out, don’t read any further (but now you’re curious).

Americans have a thing about smells. Aftershave, perfume, deodorants, soap, air fresheners, candles, frankincense, balms, salves, unguents, etcetera – these things are part of a huge industry that’s there to allow us to mask our own smells and those around us. We may have no problem with our own wonderful scents and most people don’t (as disgusting as they may be) but people not in your skin will have a problem with those “natural” fragrances. By way of illustration, I worked with a man who literally stunk. I mean nasty body odor of the “I just played seven games of pickup basketball on the way to work” variety. Hints didn’t work – nothing worked. Eventually, someone pulled him aside and said in no uncertain terms that presenting an image that offends people in such an obvious way will only make the offender into a pariah. People like that get talked about and you don’t want to be that person.

That’s why it amazes me that in our spanko community there can be that many people that seem not to get it about the basics of personal hygiene. Even if it’s their cultural norm to stink, they’re now in another culture and shouldn’t be surprised when no one wants to have anything to do with them. The basics of it are pretty simple and should be written on the back of every ticket to a party or written on every poster. And ladies, don’t think this only applies to men.

Rad’s Hygiene Crib Notes

  1. Soap and water really do work. There’s no doubt in my mind that most of the offending problem, whether scented or particulate in nature, can be fixed with the healthy and frequent application of soap, water and elbow grease.
  2. If you’ve been exerting yourself, you probably have been sweating. Sweat stinks. See #1.
  3. If your plumbing is working well, see #1. The fact is that no matter how kinky I am, I want the choice of whether I’m smelling that or not.
  4. Antiperspirants and deodorants work. I know that some people don’t like using them because of the chemicals and what they might potentially do to the human body. I can assure you that after decades of use, my brain damage has not gotten any worse. As a matter of fact, I actually solved that maze faster than Algernon last week.
  5. Brush and floss. After a bowl of hummus, a few handfuls of peanuts, some M&Ms, chocolate covered pretzels and soda, your breath probably smells like forty pounds of feet. Do the Earth a favor and scrub the crud off your teeth (and don’t forget the tongue).

The fact that this stuff has to be repeated or even stated is unfortunate but important. No one wants to spank or be spanked by a stinker let alone stand next to them on the buffet line while attempting to get that one more boiled shrimp on the plate.

12 Responses to “A Dirty Subject”

  1. My husband was and still is the only person who spanks me but to think about being spanked by a person who is unshaved and stink like a porc let my hair stand up.
    In every kinky community hygiene and discretion should be taken for granted in my opinion.

    Kisses Apple

  2. radagast Says:

    I just think some people don’t realize it.

  3. Good common sense advice Rad. It is ashame that this subject does have to be stressed and repeated at all. It should just be common sense and above all it shows respect and common courtesy for your partner(s).

    Like Apple, I have only one partner that spanks me. And we are both very conscious of our smells, etc. In fact, I know to expect at least several good swats and a nibble or two just after coming out of a shower or tub. 🙂

    -D

  4. radagast Says:

    My wife Sandy is quite delicious right out of the shower (and nude, too).

  5. Sometimes I wonder if people are just a bit unenlightened that scene hygiene is a bit more diligent/vigilant than your every day hygiene. Just for one example, one flies across the country from NYC or Chicago or Florida. You deal with airport cooties, plane cooties, baggage claim cooties and transportation cooties. If your room is ready, go up, shower and change. The clean fresh undies you put on at 5 am are no longer clean and fresh.

    Yes, yes, I know I am preaching to the choir.

    And yeah, it should be common sense.

  6. radagast Says:

    Laura: Are you saying that cooties are not a myth?

  7. I cannot confirm or deny. I am not one of those germaphobe nurses. I’ll leave that to others, but only one thing makes me more aware of how microbes go around, than the beauty of air travel. Ok, maybe it was watching Outbreak long ago that did it. I’m not sure if it was before or after the man who would have been my seat mate (had I not moved) decided to trim his toenails. On an airplane. yes, yes indeed he did.

    Oh the other thing that gets me queasy is watching kids shop along with their moms. Too much touching. As Monk would say “Wipe! Wipe!”

  8. radagast Says:

    I understand the whole germ thing but my main peeve is smells. I just don’t like people smelling foul.

  9. When I was preparing for my junior year in France program, we had a long inventory of things to review. One of those was the fact that the French families we’d be living with did not shower/bathe every day due to water issues and cultural issues. Why do you think Paris is home to such companies as Chanel? The idea was you cover up your natural odor with perfume. Thus, I made sure to note among my priorities that I needed a family who would allow me to have a shower/bath EVERY DAY. I did not get a very friendly family (they took us in for the money and did not include us in family activities). But I was clean. The French did not understand our “obsession” with bathing so often.

    It is one thing in the winter when it is cold and you don’t sweat as much. But even then, I can’t go without washing my hair and bathing daily. That is the way my body is, and no, I don’t think my body got “used” to this and therefore makes the bathing necessary!

    In the olden days there may have been reasons that people could not manage to keep themselves clean (whether fears of getting ill, or simple facts of economic status and availability of resources). But this is the 21st century, and many more of us have access to what we need to keep clean.

    It is a given that hotels that host spanking parties have soap and water.

    Use them when you get there, and as often as possible.

  10. radagast Says:

    Honestly, my parents, both of them immigrants to the U.S., never got it either. They thought it was rather bizarre to waste water when you had not been exerting yourself the day before.

  11. Swimming in a chlorinated pool does not count as bathing or showering. And I’m amazed by people that can get out of the ocean, and get dressed without hitting those outdoor showers first. The thought of being salt-sticky under clothing is a personal squick of mine.

  12. radagast Says:

    Tony: And it attracts too many deer.

Leave a Reply

