Feedback

Tomorrow will be exactly one month since Radspace first came online. Since that time, I’ve gotten a lot of comments, most of them on-topic and very, very good. I’ve also gotten some nice remarks about the blog.

Now that I’ve published a good number of articles, I was wondering what people thought about, well, pretty much everything. I don’t mean specific articles, I mean your thoughts about the overall theme, the topics covered, my writing, etcetera. Are there things you would like covered that are not? Would you like to have more give and take – ask specific questions and have them answered?

Tell me what you think and please don’t think you can’t be critical as well.

UPDATE: Thanks for all your input. Every bit of it helps me do what I’m doing a little better each day.

20 Responses to “Feedback”

  1. Rad,

    It’s a great blog. A smart blog. Your topics are fun, serious and varied. I think its great that you reply to every post. And I’m not sucking up to the blogger either. It’s fun to read. I love when there are glimpses of your relationship (scene and everyday) with Sandy.

    The visual style of the blog seems to really suit you. No rainbows or kittens necessary. You write well. You don’t over embellish or simplify. And blessedly you don’t do any of that Top speak that so many tops do. You know, where a top will make a threat or use a comment as an occassion to threaten a spanking. I find that so refreshing. For me it shows a ton of respect to your readers. Thanks for that!

  2. radagast Says:

    Laura: I don’t do Top-speak (nor do I think I can) so there’s no fear that I’ll suddenly break into that mode. I picked the visual style because I liked the simplicity of it and the fact that it made the words the most important thing rather than bells and whistles. As for respecting my readers – I don’t talk down to people because I think that’s unbelievably insulting.

  3. Indiana Says:

    I really think you need those rainbows and kittens, Rad. πŸ™‚

    Seriously, I can’t think of any suggestions right now. Like Laura, I like the variety and the intelligence and depths of the posts and the ensuing conversations. I don’t mind top talk in moderation, but it’s so nice to hear from a top who is comfortable being more substantive.

  4. radagast Says:

    Indy: I really only know how to be myself. I’m certainly not “letting it all hang out” here (that would make for an ugly sight) but I try to be as honest as I can in a way that’s somewhat intelligent.

    Are you trying to say that many Tops are not comfortable being “substantive”?

  5. Indiana Says:

    Perhaps just not publicly, Rad. Most blogs by male tops seem to feature more fantasy and pictures than musings and commentary– even blogs by guys who are more than capable of writing such posts (and who are certainly offer substantive comments on other parts of their lives). I didn’t mean my comment to be an insult– it’s generally a matter of style and comfort. It’s just that it’s much easier to find descriptions of, say, what is going through a female bottom’s mind during a spanking, than of what is going through a male top’s. So it’s nice to get that viewpoint, too.

    Hope that makes sense and isn’t too offensive!

  6. I really enjoy your blog just the way it is, even though the thought of you posting some questions sounds interesting too. I love it when people ask me questions. I think the style suits you very well. Your writing brings out your views and compassion very well. It’s “real” and that’s one of the things I love most about it. Another great thing is the fact that you get to know others better through their posts and I like that too. So keep up the good work!!!

  7. radagast Says:

    Indy: I understand completely and was not insulted at all – nor do I take offense. Even though we’re “out” in the spanking community and those who blog are even more out, it’s tough to expose your inner self. So much of life is about facades and posturing that I believe people don’t want to show themselves as vulnerable in any way even though every one of us is.

  8. radagast Says:

    Lynn: Thanks. I really don’t want to just talk at people, I want to hear what they have to say as well. I think this format works for me because with writing you can get your whole thought out and then see someone else’s entire reply. There’s no chance for crosstalk.

  9. You have beautiful eyes. So dreamy.

  10. radagast Says:

    >>You have beautiful eyes. So dreamy.

    We have a winner!

  11. I like your blog just as it is. I think LauraT summed it up pretty well (she usually does!), it’s varied, thought provoking, down to earth and genuine. Don’t change a thing. πŸ™‚

  12. Well, that’s hardly fair! The eyes in your picture are lost in deep shadow, so how can we judge? Then again, my own ability to judge the relative attractiveness of men’s eyes is highly suspect. I find your blog both germane and well-expressed (even when you read ‘crunge’ as a typo). Great job!

  13. I really do like your writing as well as your eyes and big … hands. I think you cover a nice range of topics and make great observations. It’s true that not enough tops write about what they’re experiencing. And I like that you write something every day, a goal some others (cough cough) should aspire to.

  14. radagast Says:

    Fox: Typo? Me? I can hardly believe it.

    SueNY: Thank you very much.

    sandy: I didn’t start out deciding to publish something every day but I thought it would be a good mental challenge.

  15. No, the perceived typo was mine! Except it wasn’t a typo, I just thought ‘crunge’ for ‘cringe’ was an appropriate change in a post titled ‘where is that confounded cane’ — even if all of the previous lyrics were from King Crimson.

    I suppose I should stick to appropriate homilies like “confusticate and bebother these dwarves” and perverse thoughts along the lines of what sorts of wide-ranging topics one might be able to cover with large hands….

  16. radagast Says:

    What he said.

  17. I love your blog…what I like MOST is that it is so you! I like that it is more intellectual per se…then this is what I did and do. I like that you bring questions and thoughts that you have to the forefront and invite writing on the same.

    The style is good! I have to say your blog is the only one that has made me even think of writing one but I think I enjoy responding here so much that it suits me fine!

    Thanks for doing it, I know it is a lot of work.

  18. radagast Says:

    bella: Thank you very much. It is less work than I thought it would be especially when I decided to put up at least one thing a day. I’m pretty sure I’ll be repeating myself and revisiting certain subjects but so far I’m enjoying the writing and the writing process.

  19. I like it, Rad. Your voice comes through the writing well; the descriptions of scenes are not Rimmeresque play-by-play recollections of past Risk campaigns, and the comments from the peanut gallery (Hi, gang!) have been fun to read.

    My only complaint: after reading it and heading back to a page with a light background and dark type, my eyes hurt from the sudden change in contrast (and I can get around that by changing the View->Page Style->No Style setting in Firefox).

  20. radagast Says:

    I picked the theme because it looked cool to me but didn’t think about the contrasts hurting anyone’s eyes. Hmm – perhaps I’ll have to mess with the style sheet and play with the colors.

Leave a Reply

