I Don’t Like Bratting

I have no problem with brats and spanking brats until they are sorry little girls. Bratting, on the other hand, drives me nuts.

I have to admit that as a favor to a friend, I tried to loosen up a bit and get involved with a web forum that featured lots of bratting. Like I said, I tried. There is just something that gets under my skin about the whole bratting thing. Not that I run screaming if someone is engaged in it in my vicinity, it’s just that I have no verbal response for it that would not eventually devolve into anger and nastiness.

As far as I’m concerned, the problem with bratting is that it is too one sided for my tastes. The brat can pretty much say whatever they want but I cannot respond in kind. They can mock my looks, my clothes, my demeanor, etcetera, and all that’s required of me is to spout off pithy remarks like I’m some 19th Century fop standing in a drawing room with Oscar Wilde. Honestly, do I have time for that? It’s entirely too mentally taxing for a person who works for a living to affect the persona of a bon vivant, drink in one hand and a quip on my lips at all times. Um…don’t think so.

There are people I know who have a strange notion that I would be a good adversary for a professional brat. They think this because they perceive me as being funny and this somehow means that I’m “witty”. I am not witty. I have a sense of humor that resides between the sarcastic, the bizarre and the morbid. I like the surreal in my comedy, strange situations that could not possibly exist in the real world but that I find amusing. This sort of personality does not mix well with bratting. In person, however, it can quickly lead me to start spanking which at least alleviates some of the mental anguish.

I don’t know. Maybe I’m just not tolerant enough of other people’s fun, even if that fun is the equivalent of someone tapping my eyeball with their fingernail for an hour and a half.

11 Responses to “I Don’t Like Bratting”

  1. Ok, Rad. It is official. Radspace is on my “must read” list when I get home from work in the morning.

    I cringe when I read bratting either in chat form or on a blog/bulletin board post. Whatever happened to just asking for play? They both get you to the same place. The kind of bratting that you describe is just plan tiring. I know there are those who consider it an art form. For me, well, I never did get the black painted canvas in the modern art section.

    I’d rather flat out provoke Joel. Most of the time, I accuse him of starting a spanking too hard. So I’m just reacting. But in the rare cases he starts out too soft, I’d rather push a different button like oh, say, pinching his leg or something like that. Some would argue that is non verbal bratting. Maybe it is. I dunno. Joel definitely gets the message and reacts appropriately. It isn’t something I would ever do with another top. Just something that works out between us.

    Ok, so maybe one time I did ask Joel when the spanking was going to start. Well, then there was that one time when I asked for the 1 800 Spanker number. Things that basically tell him I’m ready or wanting for more.

    As for the tongue sticking out stuff, or shoe tying… that is just not my cuppa.

    And I would never confuse you with a bon vivant. I’ve never seen you in an ascot.

  2. radagast Says:

    Wow! Your “must read” list! Tell your friends and enemies as well – my ego needs feeding.

    I don’t want to make it seem as if I don’t like people who are into bratting because that’s not the case at all. It’s just that the back and forth of it is not for me.

  3. You can also “brat online” much easier with people you know in real life. People you know you CAN spank eventually, people you know GET your sense of humor and won’t be offended (too much).

  4. radagast Says:

    sandy:

    I’m sure that’s true but again you have to like that sort of thing. The “you deserve a spanking, young lady” sort of response is just too silly for me to contemplate uttering.

  5. “Wow! Your “must read” list! Tell your friends and enemies as well – my ego needs feeding.”

    She DID tell her friends, and now your blog has been one of MY favorite stops ever since Laura pointed me in this direction a few days ago. 🙂

    I’m right there with you on the bratting thing. I love verbal banter and teasing, and I guess that could be seen as bratting, but it feels more like a mental challenge, or sparring if you will. And it’s definitely not something I do with everyone! It never crosses my mind to tie someone’s shoe laces together, or pretend to torch their clothes, pour a bucket of water over their head…god, my chest tightened up just typing that sentence… LOL. I don’t mind that others do the bratting thing – whatever anyone else is into is just fine by me, but I am finding that being around too much of that kind of bratting just drains my energy.

  6. radagast Says:

    SueNY:

    First of all, thanks for reading and your kind words.

    Verbal sparring or banter is one thing and can just be the way two people get along humorously. What bothers me is when there seems to be no end in sight to it – one remark leads to another and another and another. Like I said before, it can lead to a spanking when done in person but online it just tends to be tedious.

  7. Well Joel told me about your site…and i t is a must read for me too now :D! Now about bratting…i sometimes brat online…and i always find myself saying that I don’t brat in person, and if you like that…which some Tops do…I always tell them I don’t do that. I do like talking during the spanking, scolding, questions, etc…but that is a very different thing.

    bella

  8. radagast Says:

    Hi bella! Thanks for reading my ramblings.

    A little bit of bratting doesn’t bother me and I don’t mind “brats” themselves. It’s the incessant type of bratting that seems to have no end that I object to.

  9. I think your distinction makes sense, Rad.

    I sometimes wonder if the “incessantly bratty” take advantage of the spanking community in order to be as bratty as they want (something they cannot do in vanilla life). As opposed to those who “spank flirt” with cute banter and just enough of it to let you know, without asking, that they want a spanking. After all, many can’t just ask for what they fantasize will be given if they behave inappropriately. Many don’t want to play just for the sake of play. They wish to feel punished or disciplined for a reason, and try to give ones through their dialogue that are short of torching a car.

    I can’t ask for the “s” word myself. But I can suggest play.

    I’ve been a “brat” as in I role-played a misbehaving schoolgirl. That can be fun, but I can’t imagine just being bratty to whoever, in hopes that they would just take me over their knee to deal with me.

    I prefer submission, and the Top to take and be in control.

  10. radagast Says:

    I think I pretty much spelled out the reasons I don’t like it but, again, that doesn’t mean that there aren’t times I can deal with it for a bit and even find it amusing. It’s the non-stop brats that get to me.

  11. […] already written about one of my pet peeves that mostly involves women in the scene (and a certain number of men). I […]

Leave a Reply

